

## MINISTRY HUMAN SETTLEMENTS REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X645, Pretoria, 0001. Tel: (012) 421 1309, Fax: (012) 341 8513 Private Bag X9029, Cape Town, 8000. Tel (021) 466 7603, Fax: (021) 466 3610

NATIONAL ASSEMBLY
QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY

**QUESTION NO.: 355** 

**DATE OF PUBLICATION: 14 FEBRUARY2025** 

## QUESTION:

355. Mr C J Poole (DA) to ask the Minister of Human Settlements:

- (1) With reference to the briefing during the Portfolio Committee on Human Settlements on 13 November 2024, wherein it was reported that her department introduced Title Deeds Fridays as an intervention to expedite the issuance of title deeds, what has been the success rate of this initiative;
- (2) whether the specified initiative is still ongoing; if not, what is the position in this regard; if so, (a) which municipalities are actively participating in the initiative and (b) what are the relevant details? NW385E

## **REPLY:**

1) At the start of the Title Deeds Campaign in October 2023 the human settlements sector after making detailed enquiries with provinces, had 95 638 title deeds in municipal and provincial offices, to be issued. To date 65 952 of these have been issued to beneficiaries, the success rate is therefore 69% over a period of sixteen (16) months.

- 2) The initiative is still ongoing, and it is implemented through provinces and municipalities.
- a) In the Eastern Cape, the following municipalities participate actively in this initiative: Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality, Umzimvubu, Great Kei, Raymond Mhlaba, Mbashe, Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality, Enoch Mgijima, Sakhisizwe, Walter Sisulu, Senqu, Kouga and Ndlambe municipalities.

Participating municipalities in the Free State are: Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality, Mafube, Metsimaholo, Ngwathe, Moqhaka, Matjhabeng, Masilonyana, Nala, Tokologo, Tswelopele, Dihlabeng, Maluti-a-Phofung, Mantsopa, Nketoana, Phumelela, Setsoto, Kopanong, Letsemeng and Mohokare municipalities.

**In Gauteng participating municipalities are:** City of Tshwane, City of Johannesburg, City of Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipalities, West Rand, Emfuleni and Sedibeng municipalities.

In KwaZulu Natal, participating municipalities are: Ethekwini, Nquthu, uMsunduzi, eMadlangeni, KwaDukuza, Mandeni, Newcastle, Abaqulusi, uMzimkhulu, Mtubatuba, Greater Kokstad, uMuziwabantu, and Alfred Duma municipalities.

Participating municipalities in Limpopo are: Molemole, Lepelle-Nkumpi, Modimolle-Mookgopong, Mogalakwena, Thabazimbi, Lephalale, Ba-Phalaborwa, Greater Giyane, Collins Chabane, Makhado and Musina municipalities.

In Mpumalanga participating municipalities are: Mkhondo, Msukaligwa, Dipaleseng, Govan Mbeki, Emakhazeni, Steve Tshwete, Victor Kanye, Thembiseile Hani and Pixley Ka Isaka Seme municipalities.

**Participating municipalities in Northern Cape are:** Phokwane, Siyathemba Khai-Ma, Sol Plaatje, Digatlong, Thembelihle, Hantam and Emthanjeni municipalities.

In North West, participating municipalities are: Mamusa, Lekwa-Teemane, Madibeng, Maquassie Hills, Tswaing, Mafikeng, Kgetlengrivier, Matlosana, Naledi, Disobotla, Rustenburg municipalities.

Participating municipalities in the Western Cape are: City of Cape Town, Drakenstein, George, Hessequa, Langeberg, Mossel Bay, Oudtshoorn, Overstrand, Saldanha, Stellenbosch, Swartland, Theewaterskloof and Witzenberg municipalities.

b) The Title Deed Friday Campaign is spearheaded by MECs in provinces and municipal participation is dependant on whether title deeds have been registered in the respective municipalities. The campaign calls on MECs and Mayors to ensure that title deeds are issued to beneficiaries as soon as it have been processed and captured by implementing agents.

Province	Number of Title Deeds Issued by December 2024
Eastern Cape	1 843
Free State	11 687
Gauteng	6 444
KwaZulu Natal	8 170
Limpopo	1 794
Mpumalanga	10 149
Northern Cape	540
North West	13 007
Western Cape	12 318